The high level cold vortex did its job!: Second thunderstorm in Hungary!

On Saturday, the 30th of May, 2009, there were thunderstorms occured in Pécel, Hungary!

At first, it was predictable that there will be a storm because the minimal temperature for cumulus clouds to develop was only 12 degress centigrade, but there was even warmer in the morning. When I woke up, I looked a sky full of small cumulus clouds.

At 11am there was a dead cumulonimbus, the window and the ground became spotty with raindrops. It was hard to believe there will be something better.

dead cumulonimbus

dead cumulonimbus

Some cumulus congestus in the other side of the sky

Some cumulus congestus in the other side of the sky

But the great change in weather came at midday, when some thunder were heard and a shower came.

The first thundercloud

The first thundercloud

Angry black cumulus clouds

Angry black cumulus clouds

After the shower a big cumulus congestus cloud emerged from the nothing and became a cumulonimbus calvus.

The second thundercloud

The second thundercloud

The second thundercloud

The second thundercloud

I didn’t saw it in the sky, but I saw it on my webcam images which was filming the sky. ‘On the last pictures a congestus cloud became a Cb Calvus! It will be thunderring!” – I thought it and in a few seconds I heard the thunder.

I switched my MP3 player and recorded some nice rolling thunder sounds.

thunder

thunder

I saw some flashes of lightning and tried to catch some lightning on the camera but it didn’t work! It was too bright!

Well the sky began to clear. I saw some cumulus clouds in the distance but I didn’t care.

I sit back in front of my computer and watched the radar image. Then I went back to watch the sky. Then just noticed there are cumulonimbus calvus clouds ordered in a line and heard thunder from them! – Another chance.

cumulonimbus calvus

cumulonimbus calvus

Thunderheads ordered in a line

Thunderheads ordered in a line

After a few minutes, the cloud became darker and darker, there was hail falling from the cloud!

The cloud became darker

The cloud became darker

The thunder came from the direction of the hail line. I grabbed my camera and tried to catch some lightning.

Some lightning strikes from the storm:

lightning bolt

lightning bolt 1

lightning bolt 2

lightning bolt 2

lightning bolt 3

lightning bolt 3

lightning bolt 4

lightning bolt 4

lightning bolt 5

lightning bolt 5

There was some nice mammatus clouds after the storm.

mammatus

mammatus

mammatus

mammatus

It produced a good amount of rain.

And the sunset:

sunset

sunset

sunset

sunset

All in all it was a great day!

Webcamera animation of the day:

Névjegy csengeri
I love thunderstorms, lightning photography, interested in physics, paranormal things (ghosts), I like simulating explosions, clouds and smokes on computer. I like watching and making videos and upload them to Youtube. -------------------------- Szeretem a viharokat, villámokat fotózni, érdekel a fizika, parajelenségek (szellemek), szeretek robbanásokat, felhőket és füstöt utánozni a számítógépen. Szeretek videókat nézni és készíteni, feltölteni azokat a Youtube-ra.

Vélemény, hozzászólás?

